42 Comments
author

I'll start! One of my favorite recent reads was Nora Goes Off Script, about a single mom in her 40s who falls in love with the actor portraying her ex husband. (Think The Idea of You but way better.) Anyone have similar recs, something with a non-celebrity/celebrity trope?

Expand full comment

After a string of family dramas, I needed a change of pace to something transporting with strong external conflict so I finally picked up KINDRED by Octavia Butler -- v. hooked so far!

Expand full comment

I’ve been really into bite-sized books (under 200 pages). Julie Otsuka’s books are heavy, but beautifully written. I also loved Woman of Light by Kali Fajardo-Anstine, set in Colorado with Mexican women throughout generations.

Expand full comment

This is so fun! Recently I’ve loved The Weight of Ink by Rachel Kaddish. It’s really phenomenal historical fiction. I also devoured all the books in The Penderwicks series and am on the hunt for something just as summery and delightful.

Expand full comment

Oh I LOVE this idea! I’m currently reading The Appeal by Janice Hallett and I can’t put it down. I don’t read thrillers too often, but because this one has had such good buzz around it AND it’s an epistolary style, I gave it a try and I’m so glad I did! It’s such a fun read. In the same vein I also recently loved Cover Story (also epistolary)—these kinds of books are great for getting out of a slump. Two other recent faves (that could be in my top 10 of the year possibly!) are Take My Hand and This Time Tomorrow.

Expand full comment
Jun 23, 2022Liked by Katharine

My favorites in June: Leave the World Behind (Rumman Alam), The Magnolia House (Fiona Davis), When the Apricots Bloom (Ginda Wilkerson)

Expand full comment

Recently read What my bones know by Stephanie Foo, I finished it in 2 days, highly recommend

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2022Liked by Katharine

I just finished Remarkably Bright Creatures. It will definitely be in my top books of the year! Also recently read and loved Thursday Murder Club, recommended by Katharine since I love Louise Penny.

Expand full comment
founding
Jun 22, 2022Liked by Katharine

Just finished:

- The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley (meh)

- This Time Tomorrow by Emma Straus (breaks my heart but ... meh)

Currently reading:

- Black Boy Smile by D. Watkins

Expand full comment
Jun 22, 2022Liked by Katharine

How high we go in the dark-sequoia nagamastu.

It’s definitely for fans of both cloud atlas and station eleven (station eleven is one of my favorite books ever)

A memory called empire-Arkady Martine. Definitely has the space opera type feel.

Expand full comment
founding
Jun 22, 2022Liked by Katharine

Currently reading The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet and really liking it! But life is busy and it’s a SLOW start for me. But it’s me, not the book. I’m also about to start book 4 of the ACOTAR series, and it’s just like “book candy” as the librarian said.

Expand full comment
founding

Thanks to your May newsletter, I have a ton on my TBR! lol I just started So Happy For You and am really intrigued by it so far. I didn't read Under the Rainbow even though it's been on my TBR for awhile so I'm excited to see where this one goes since I'm not familiar with her style.

Prior to that, I read Last Summer on State Street and loved it even though it was a little heartbreaking. It makes me think of what some people living in Baltimore City (basically down the block from me) must go through. I also absolutely adored Lessons in Chemistry. And then, I DNF my first book in like three years as well, The Candy House. It did not capture me at all.

Expand full comment