71 Comments
author

I'll start! I just read and LOVED (loved loved loved) The Force of Such Beauty by Barbara Bourland. I'm in the mood for a really good romance, one that will have me smiling the whole time (and that also has plenty of steam) – think Lease on Love, Talia Hibbert, and Jasmine Guillory. Any recs?

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

I just read Book Lovers, Every Summer After and Nora Goes Off Script. Clearly I have a type LOL I loved all of them and I'm excited that for two of the authors it was their first book. Looking forward to reading more from them! Not sure what i'm going to read next but I probably need to shift genres.

Expand full comment

I'm in the middle of The Star-Crossed Sisters of Tuscany and absolutely loving it. The perfect fun summer read (imo). I find myself thinking about it when I'm not reading it and that has been rare for me lately

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

I finished Dream On, which was delightful, but not very steamy. Sweet romance & great friendships too. Cass wakes up from a coma with vivid memories of a boyfriend that she's never met. Then months later she bumps into exact man! He exists! It was very cute and light, but with enough depth that I was hooked. Angie Hockman is the author. She also wrote Shipped. Another book I read and loved was The Beach Trap by Ali Brady. Romance, steam, but mostly a sister story. Perfect beach read, IMO.

Expand full comment
founding
Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

Just read Book Lovers (loved!) and The Nantucket Hotel. I wasn’t sure how I’d like the latter (I figured I’d love the former) but I really enjoyed it! Looking for some more lighter summer reads for upcoming beach trips. ☀️

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2022·edited Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

I really loved The Goldfinch, Pachinko, and Cloud Cuckoo Land. Something epic, engrossing, ok with multiple narrators. No romance. Looking for something similar!

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

I just read the Reading List which I really loved. It took me a minute to get into it but I wasn't really in the headspace for it. Read a few romcoms and then went back to it. I loved it. moody teenagers, library, lots of book talk, connecting via books, a really great read.

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

I am giving up on Cloud Cuckoo Land. I am finding it too hard to follow. David Sedaris’ most recent made me laugh out loud as usual!

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

I read a Tia Williams' backlist book called The Perfect Find, plenty of romance and steam! I loved Nora Goes Off Script, no steam. Well Behaved Indian Women was really good, more into culture and roles of men and women, the ending was a surprise! My book mood is definitely easy reads and romance, that's all my brain can handle in the current world state!

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

I’m currently reading the second in the Aristotle and Dante series and loving being back with the characters again, they make my heart so full. Partially fits the brief of what you were looking for Katharine if you haven’t read them already! Next I need to get into a proper summer read - I usually read the new Paige Toon book at this time of year but she’s not releasing one this year so looking for a similar vibe? Heartwarming romance, usually dialled down on the steam!

Expand full comment
founding
Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

I just read The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave which I enjoyed but sadly did not live up to the Bookstagram hype for me. Also finished This is How You Lose the Time War last night - I loved it but I also have no idea what it was about LOL.

I'm in an easy reads mood so I think I am going to pick up a thriller or a summer contemporary next - definitely open to suggestions!

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

I just finished Portrait of a Thief and have not stopped thinking about it!! Are there any other books deeper character arcs (like The Unsinkable Greta James)? I love a happy go lucky romcom, (Funny You Should Ask is my favorite from this year!) but I think I've hit my light read max.

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2022Liked by Katharine

I just finished the Book of Unknown Americans and loved it! Infinite Country is also on my list. I’m not sure what I’m in the mood for now. Something more fun and light-hearted maybe but not a romance.

Expand full comment

I’m currently reading It All Comes Down to This! Enjoying but not totally loving so far. I’m always on the hunt for a good beach/summer read—but the catch is, I don’t necessarily love the light romance kinds! I LOVE a New England setting and messy, complicated family dynamics (think The Paper Palace & The Most Fun We Ever Had). Anything I should add to my must-read list for the beach next week?

Expand full comment

I just finished Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin and oh my gosh what a delight this book was. It is moving and reads like poetry. The characters, the plot, the themes… it was all *chefs kiss*. This may be my new favorite book of all time.

Expand full comment

I just got back from vacation and my reading was incredible. I only brought books I own and it turns out that I buy books I really like. Who would have guessed? 😂 The five star reads were Disability Visibility, Remarkably Bright Creatures, The Lincoln Highway, Book Lovers, and The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

Expand full comment

I just finished The Beach Trap, it was pretty good. Currently listening to My Government Means to Kill Me. Really enjoying it so far!

Expand full comment

I’m currently doing some backlist and really enjoying AFTER THE FLOOD by Kassandra Montag. It’s one I’d give to people looking for more after they finish Where the Crawdads Sing, but I think this one is a bit heavier and has better developed characters.

Expand full comment

Love these threads! I’m currently reading and loving CLEOPATRA AND FRANKENSTEIN by Coco Mellors. I’m loving messy litfic with high def characters at the moment!

Expand full comment